Screening Dates:
Fri 17 February 8:10pm
Sat 18 February 8:00pm
Sun 19 February 6:00pm
Mon 20 February 5:50pm
Tue 21 February 6:30pm
Wed 22 February 2:00pm
Thu 23 February 8:00pm

Tickets on sale to members Thu 19 Jan at 5pm, and on general sale on Fri 20 Jan at midday.

Nominated for Best Actor for Brendan Fraser and Best Supporting Actress for Hong Chau at the 2023 Baftas & the 2023 Oscars

Captioned/Hard of Hearing Screening: Mon 20 Feb 5.50pm

Director: Darren Aronofsky (Black Swan, The Fountain, The Wrestler & Requiem for a Dream)

Starring: Brendan Fraser, Sadie Sink, Ty Simpkins, Hong Chau, Samantha Morton

In Darren Aronofsky’s The Whale, Brendan Fraser gives a virtuosic performance as Charlie, an English teacher living with severe obesity whose time is running out. As he makes a last bold attempt to reconcile with his broken family, Charlie must confront, with his full heart and fierce wit, long-buried traumas and unspoken love that have haunted him for decades.

Based on the acclaimed play by Samuel D. Hunter the Whale offers much more than just darkness. It’s a soaring character study of a man wrestling with the enormity of his regret, the duty of fatherhood, and the feasibility of goodness itself. At its core, The Whale is a story about transformation and transcendence, one man’s odyssey into himself and out of his body, a journey through the depths of grief towards the possibility of salvation.

The screening on Wed 22 Feb at 2pm is a Silver Screening – our weekly matinees aimed at ages 60 and over with tickets at £8 (inc. booking fee) and £7 (members, inc. booking fee). Under-60s are welcome at these screenings, standard ticket prices apply.